Woody Guthrie Prize Recipient

The Woody Guthrie Prize is given annually to an artist who best exemplifies Woody Guthrie’s spirit and work by speaking for the less fortunate through music, film, literature, dance or other art forms and serving as a positive force for social change.

“We hope that the Woody Guthrie Prize will shed an inspirational light on those who have decided to use their talents for the common good rather than for personal gain,” says Woody Guthrie’s daughter Nora. “With his dry wit, Woody always preferred to call himself a ‘commonist.’ His quote from John Steinbeck’s character, Tom Joad, says it pretty simply: ‘Wherever children are hungry and cry, wherever people ain’t free, wherever men are fightin’ for their rights, that’s where I’m gonna be.’

“There are so many people who are living this credo, and they’re the ones we will be honoring.”

Pussy Riot will be honored as the 2023 Woody Guthrie Prize recipient at Cain’s Ballroom Saturday, May 6. The Russian feminist protest and performance art group became popular for its provocative punk rock music. Founded in August 2011, members of the group have been repeatedly imprisoned in Russia for speaking out on human rights issues in their home country. The prize presentation will anchor a weekend of activities that will also feature the legendary Ramblin’ Jack Elliott with Sarah Lee Guthrie and Bobby Carradine in a special members-only concert. 

“As artists who, like Woody Guthrie, have the courage of their convictions, there are no contemporary artists more worthy of this recognition than Pussy Riot,” said Cady Shaw, director of the Woody Guthrie Center. “They have paid a very personal price for speaking their minds on the most serious issues of our time, yet they continue to fight for justice and freedom.”

Proceeds from the annual event help support the Woody Guthrie Center®, which features state-of-the-art, interactive exhibits on his life, art and creative legacy. The center is home to Woody Guthrie’s comprehensive archives, including the original, handwritten version of his landmark anthem, “This Land is Your Land,” which is available for viewing at the center.

Woody Guthrie Prize Winners

Bruce Springsteen
Bruce Springsteen (2021)
Joan Baez
Joan Baez (2020)
Chuck D Sitting
Chuck D (2019)
John Mellencamp Performance
John Mellencamp (2018)
Norman Lear
Norman Lear (2017)
Kris Kristofferson
Kris Kristofferson (2016)
Mavis Staples
Mavis Staples (2015)
Pete Seeger
Pete Seeger (2014)